Posted by: keherenf | February 24, 2008

Looking to Step up your Healthy Lifestyle? Try Crossfit.com

crossfittotal_deadlift-722589.jpg

I’ll be the first one to tell you I’m not into most trends or fads when it comes to fitness or nutrition. I think that eating healthy and working out is the greatest key to success, and anything outside of that I feel is tailored to personal compatibility. As such, I have worked out doing fairly similar routines for years now. I love endurance sports…especially running. Sometimes I will switch up running with weight lifting or the occasional cardio class. But, my body has not really changed since my body stopped being challenged.

Sound familiar? This all changed when I was exposed to crossfit.com. Although anything you would ever want to know about crossfit is thoroughly answered on its website, the main gist is that one should eat well (which they explain) and combine heavy weightlifting, gymnastics, and hard cardio workouts to become the greatest athlete one can be.

The best way to start is to explore the site..find out what crossfit is all about. It is not a gimmick, it is more a way of life which so far seems to provide the steps for success. It does not cost money either. Look around, find out the beliefs behind the workouts and the nutrition.

Then, check out the WOD (workout of the day). These WOD’s have become so exciting that my friends and I check it every night until it is posted. They believe in 3 days of working out with 1 day of rest, so the WOD follows that on/off formula while incorporating the gymnastics, cardio, and heavy weightlifting they believe in.

Do you see a term on the WOD that you do not know about? Well, they also have every move on video. You can check out some uber in- shape people utilize the right form for each exercise so you can ensure that you do it correctly yourself. The competitions between the strongest people are pretty entertaining to watch.

When I was first introduced by my best friend, I took a mild interest in it. But, as he became more excited about it, I had to try it out for myself. I have been completely turned onto it ever since. I have restarted drinking protein drinks, which I have not done since I was in top shape. I too anxiously await for the newest WOD posting. And most importantly, I am sore. All the time. There are workouts in which I push myself so much that I have to stop and bend over just to catch some air, but for someone who’s body has not felt challenged in awhile, it feels really good. I can tell that I am utilizing areas of my body which I had not been doing before, and I am excited to see where crossfit takes me.

If you want to know more, check out Crossfit itself or my best friend’s blog. They both have great information on what Crossfit can do for you. It’s free, it’s fun, check it out!


Responses

  1. I will definetly check them out. I have found out that over the years I rely more and more on weight lifting not as a hobby but as a way of life. I am always looking for new routines to keep it fresh.

    Thanks

  2. No problem! I hope you enjoy it….it’s definitely still kicking my butt!


Leave a comment

Categories